The Division of Social Sciences includes several essential academic disciplines dedicated to the mission of discovering truths about the human person and using this knowledge to improve the human condition as it is experienced in society: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, History, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Social Work.     

No area of human life, no issue in society exists beyond the reach of the social sciences.  

Underpinning all of them are cultural, historical, legal, political, psychological, and social dimensions.  The courses offered within the Division of Social Sciences explore these various dimensions and prepare students to lead meaningful, informed lives within modern society.  It is no overstatement to state that the faculty and staff of the Division live in a social sciences world—and so do you!

The Division offers five majors and five minors that will empower you to discover how to live life well at both the individual and societal levels:

Majors

Minors

The Division’s caring faculty provide engaging instruction and personalized mentorship, which build a strong foundation to pursue advanced degrees or lifelong careers in many areas such as counseling, education, human services, government, law, mental health, politics, and many other human- and social-based fields. 

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, those working in social science occupations currently enjoy a median income of $72,740 with job opportunities expected to grow at 8% through the year 2030.

Most importantly, a social sciences-based curriculum develops the whole person: strengthening analytical reading skills, enhancing critical thinking skills, and developing effective writing skills.  

This collection of skills will empower you to confront personal and societal issues of the day with confidence and intelligence while also appreciating and pursuing the truth, the good, and the beauty that lie at the foundation of all human happiness.

The opportunities for enrichment offered to you by the Division go well beyond the classroom and personal mentorship.  The Division also offers an array of internships spanning the social sciences and sponsors extracurricular programming throughout the academic year, including academic lectures, field trips, information days, and volunteer activities. 

Meet the Division of Social Sciences

Come, join our Social Sciences world, and let us prepare you for the journey of your lifetime….  

Lucinda Acquaye-Doyle, Ph.D.

Lucinda Acquaye-Doyle, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Program Director of Social Work, Casey Hall, Room 106

Phone: (845) 848-4115

Email: L.Acquaye-Doyle@duny.edu

Michael Ainette, Ph.D.

Michael Ainette, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology, Casey Hall, Room 106

Phone: (845) 848-4103

Email: Michael.Ainette@duny.ed

Paul Bonk, Ph.D.

Paul Bonk, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Political Science and Program Coordinator of Social Sciences, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4073

Email: Paul.Bonk@duny.edu

David Chun, Ph.D.

David Chun, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4070

Email: David.Chun@duny.edu

Blair Hoplight, Ph.D.

Blair Hoplight, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4071

Email: Blair.Hoplight@duny.edu

Melody Hyppolite, Ph.D.

Melody Hyppolite, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Social Work, Casey Hall, Room 106

Phone: (845) 848-4078

Email: Melody.Hyppolite@duny.edu

Kelly Johnson, Ph.D.

Kelly Johnson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Program Coordinator of Psychology, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4074

Email: Kelly.Johnson@duny.edu

Christopher Libertini, Ph.D.

Christopher Libertini, Ph.D.

Division Director, Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator of History, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4069

Email: Christopher.Libertini@duny.edu

Tara Parrello, Ph.D.

Tara Parrello, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Sociology and Program Coordinator of Criminal Justice, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4097

Email: Tara.Parrello@duny.edu

Bonni Raab, M.S.W.

Bonni Raab, M.S.W.

Assistant Professor of Social Work, Casey Hall, Room 106

Phone: (845) 848-4076

Email: Bonni.Raab@duny.edu

Ilya Slavinski, Ph.D.

Ilya Slavinski, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice and Sociology, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4067

Email: Ilya.Slavinski@duny.edu

Scott White, Ph.D.

Scott White, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of History and University Archivist, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4072

Email: Scott.White@duny.edu

Maureen Aitchison

Maureen Aitchison

Administrative Assistant, Social Work, Casey Hall, Room 106

Phone: (845) 848-4077

Email: maureen.aitchison@duny.edu

Lisa Connolly

Lisa Connolly

Administrative Assistant, Social Sciences, Casey Hall, Room 18

Phone: (845) 848-4068

Email: lisa.connolly@duny.edu